ZANU-PF wins a two-thirds majority in Zimbabwe House of Assembly


Note: some results have changed after losing candidates asked for Chegutu, Dexter Nduna of Zanu PF won but later lost the seat after MDC Alliance candidate proved he had more votes

Zimbabwe’s ruling Zanu-PF party has won the majority of seats in parliament after sweeping rural constituencies by huge margins, ZEC has announced.

The Emmerson Mnangagwa led party has got 144 seats in the 210-member National Assembly, while the opposition MDC Alliance took 64.

MDC Alliances alleges that results are fake and not a true reflection of what actually transpired.

Two seats were taken by an independent candidate and the National Patriotic Front(NPF) in Norton and Kwekwe respectively.

Among notable winners is Energy Mutodi a staunch ally of Emmerson Mnangagwa during the Mugabe days. MDC-Alliance leader’s young brother Starman Chamisa won in Mbare.

Here is a breakdown of Zimbabwe Parliamentary Seats by province done before final results were announced:


Zanu PF – 22

MDC Alliance – 5

NPF – 1


Zanu PF – 25

MDC Alliance – 1

Mashonaland West

Zanu PF – 18

MDC Alliance – 3

Independent – 1


Zanu PF – 19

MDC Alliance – 7

Matabeleland South

Zanu PF – 12

MDC Alliance – 1

Matabeleland North

Zanu PF – 8

MDC Alliance – 5


Zanu PF –

MDC Alliance – 25


Zanu PF – 1

MDC Alliance – 11

Mashonaland Central

Zanu PF – 18

MDC Alliance – 0

Mashonaland East

Zanu PF – 21

MDC Alliance – 2