South Africa’s president Cyril Ramaphosa will not face an impeachment process after a majority of MPs voted against the adoption of the Phala Phala report.

Only 148 members of parliament voted in favour and 214 voted against, while two MPs abstained from the vote.

In the end, National Assembly Speaker Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula ruled that the Section 89 process would not proceed.