A list of observers that Govt will invite for 2018 elections.

It includes 46 countries; the EU, US and Commonwealth. Also on the proposed list is US Senator Flake, one of the ‘ZDERA’ Senators (US Senate foreign relations committee)

Proposed list for invitations to observe the 2018 General Elections

A. The Southern African Development Community (SADC)
B. All fifteen SADC Countries

1. Angola
2. Botswana
3. Democratic Republic of Congo
4. Lesotho
5. Madagascar
6. Malawi
7. Mauritius
8. Mozambique
9. Namibia
10. South Africa
11. Swaziland
12. Tanzania
13. Zambia
14. Seychelles
15. Comoros

C. SADC Parliamentary Forum
D. Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
E. International Organisations

1. The Commonwealth
2. Non-Aligned Movement

NB: The United Nations Commission does not observe elections of Member Countries

F. Africa

1. African Union Commission
2. Pan-African Parliament

E. European Union (EU)

1. European Union Commission
2. European Union Parliament

H. Other Countries in Europe
1. Belarus
2. Norway
3. Russia
4. Serbia
5. Switzerland

I. Africa. Caribbean and Pacific Group (ACP)
J. ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly

K. Diplomatic Missions Bilaterally Accredited to Zimbabwe (Five Diplomats per Embassy)

Diplomats accredited to Zimbabwe will be accredited to observe the elections upon request. In 2013, only diplomats accredited on a full time basis, and not those on temporary assignments were accredited as observers.

L. North American Countries
1. Canada
2. Mexico
3. United States of America

M. South American Countries
1. Brazil
2. Ecuador
3 Nicaragua
4. Venezuela

N: Caribbean Countries
1. Cuba
2. Jamaica
3. Trinidad and Tobago
4. Barbados
5. Guyana

O. Australia and Pacific Countries
1. Australia
2 New Zealand
3 Papua New Guinea

P. Asian Countries
1. China
2 India
3. Indonesia
4. Iran
5. Japan
6. Malaysia
7. Pakistani
8. Palestine
9. South Korea
10. Thailand

Q. Liberation Movements
1. African National Congress (ANC – South Africa)
2. Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM- Tanzania)
3. The Mozambique Liberation Front (Frelimo – Mozambique)
4. South West Africa People’s Organisation (Swapo – Namibia)
5. Botswana Democratic Party (PDP – Botswana)
6. The People’s Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA – Angola)

R. Eminent Individuals to Invite
1. Jeffrey Lane Flake, United States of America Senator for Arizona. The Senator currently serves on the U.S.A Senate Committee on Foreign Relations
2. Andrew Jackson Young Junior, Ambassador Young is a former Congressman (1973-1977), Ambassador of the United States to the United Nations (1977 -1979) Mayor of Atlanta (1982-1990).

S. Breakdown of Invitees

Total number of countries     46
Total number of organisations 15
Total number of individuals    2
Total number of invitees      63