Voting is currently underway for the 8 local authority by-elections and according to the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) all polling stations opened at on time.

The by-elections were necessitated by the recalling and death of some councillors.

The eight constituencies are, Kariba (3), Makoni, Mutasa, Dangamvura, Mt Darwin and Zengeza.

The polls are expected to be a two horse race between ZANU-PF and the Citizens Coalition for Change.

Meanehile, ZEC says it will be conducting an Electoral College for People With Disabilities (PWDs) on the 14th of May 2022 to elect the Senate Proportional Representative for them.